Clifford’s goal completes Tip’s Kerry route to set up McGrath Cup final with Corco

McGrath Cup Group B

Tipperary 0-5
Carey 1-23

One week’s 23-point win is the next week’s 21-point win, and Carey manager Jack O’Connor was delighted. He also expects – and would like – a tough test from Cork in the McGrath Cup final, which has been pushed back a week to Saturday week in Killarney.

On the back of Limerick’s trance last week, O’Connor sent an equally strong team to Templetuhy, intent on dropping the tip and securing a cut in the cork. In 10 days, the Rebels sealed their place in the final with a win over Waterford. Booked. Tuesday night.

By agreement, with the finals originally scheduled for this Saturday, O’Connor and Cork boss Keith Ricken moved the finals back a week. Many players from both teams are involved in the Sigerson Cup this week and beyond, and the additional seven days allow some of them, perhaps, to be back with their county squads, and even more time, considering a The first meeting of the year between all the enemies to do

Carey made six changes from a team that had defeated Limerick by 23 points a week earlier, but the traveling side was not vulnerable to change.

David Clifford, Daragh Moynihan and Mike Breen were waived of Sigerson Cup duty, while Stephen Okunbor and Paa Warren had club commitments over the weekend, but Kerry’s reps were more up to the task. When one includes Sean O’Shea, Paul Murphy and Tadgh Morley, it’s easy to see how Tipperary was hiding nothing in this match.

A starting point off the mark from Killian Spillane set Carey in his stride, and scores from Stephen O’Brien and O’Shea soon followed.

When Dan O’Donoghue, who made Carey senior debut last week, raided back from the corner to kick off Carey’s fourth score, tip boss David Powers must have realized he and his players were in for a rough evening.

Carey was leading 0–8 until the water break and there were no scores, and they were nine ahead before the home team recorded their first score – a converted free from goalkeeper Michael O’Reilly. By the time Connor Sweeney scored the first point of the tip from the game – arguably the best score of the half after a wide counter-attack – Carey had 12 on the board, and led from 0-12 to 0-2 at the interval.

Carey points and substitutes from both sides were hazy in the second half and O’Connor and David Power ran their bench.

Sweeney (Free) and Anna McBride had early second-half scores for Tipperary, but Carey went 0-15 to 0-4 at the second water break, and then Anna O’Conchier tapped Paudie Clifford in the 56th minute. -Teeded for the goal. For the only green signal of the game.

O’Connor, apparently, was pleased with his players’ attitude and appetite, but admitted that Cork would be a very harsh test for his Kerry team.

Tipperary: Michael O’Reilly 0-1 (f), Shane O’Connell, Liam Ryan, Jimmy Feehan, Mark O’Meara, Ciaran Cannon, Colm O’Shaughnessy, Luke Boland, Mark Russell, Jordan Moloney, Connor Sweeney 0-3 (2f), Bill Maher, Anna McBride 0-1, Shane Foley, Mark Stokes.
later stages: Johnny Ryan (Arravel Rovers) for Stokes (31), Kuba Behan (JK Brackens) for M.O. Reilly (HT), Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers) for M.O., Jack Kennedy (M.O.) JK Brackens) Meera (47), Paul Devlin (Air og Anacarty) for L Ryan (47), Leon Kennedy (Grangemokler Ballynyle) for B Maher (60), Ben Comerford for S Foley (60), CO Shaughnessy K Darragh O’Leary (69), Tadhag Carew (72) for M Russell, Christy English (72) for E McBride, Tom Tobin (72) for Jay Moloney

KerryShane Ryan (Rathmore), Dan O’Donoghue 0-1 (Spa), Jason Foley (BallyDonoghue), Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle), Paul Murphy (Rathmore), Tadgh Morley (Templano), Gavin Crowley (Templano), Sean O’Shea 0-5 (3f, 2m) (Kenmare Shamrocks), Adrian Spillane (Templano), Michael Burns 0-1 (Dr Crocs), Poudy Clifford 1-2 (0-1f) (Fosa), Stephen O’Brien 0-1 (Kenmare Shamrocks), Kylian Spillane 0-6 (1m) (Templano), Paul Geany 0-2 (1m) (Dingle), Dara Roche 0-2 (Glenflask).
later stages: Brian Beglaoch (Ann Gheltacht) for G. Crowley (43), Graham O’Sullivan 0-1 (Piersagh na Dromoda) for P. Murphy (47), de Roche (51), anna Conchir for Adam Donoghue ( Ann Gheltacht) (Caslisland Desmonds) for S. O’Brien (55), Tony Brosnan 0-2 (Dr. Croix) for P. Geany (58), Jack Savage (Kerrins O’Rahhills) for P. Clifford (58)

punch: Jonathan Hayes (Limerick)