Dubs don’t have their way of victory over Offali in the O’Burn Cup

Dublin had to work hard to beat Offali in this first round match of the O’Burn Cup at Tullamore.

Although the visitors were never in the lead, Offley reduced the deficit to two points with ten minutes remaining. However, Dublin strengthened further with a man of the match performance to All-Star Ciaran Kilkenny.

In the end, the two goals he scored made the difference, although Offley would regret not taking advantage of any chances he scored.

In addition to Kilkenny, first-team players Tom Lahiff, Sean Buggler, Peeder O’Kofeg-Byrne, Shane Carthy, Eoin Merchan and Colm Baskel also participated for Dublin.

It was the first time since 2014 that Dublin had not started a new season as All-Ireland champions and fielding such an experienced side on the opening day of the season was a sure message of intent.

Offley’s preparations were hampered by Covid-19 and he has fielded a largely experimental side, including four players who won All-Ireland Under-20 medals last season. They defeated Dublin in their historic journey to that title.

Kilkenny’s work-rate in early exchanges set a marker for his less experienced peers. It took seven minutes for the visitors to open their account through Buggler, but they quickly extended their lead to three.

However, Under-20 medalist Jack Bryant proved a handful for the Dublin full-backline and Kilkenny cut the deficit to a point before Kilkenny scored a one-point pitch to leave Dublin 4–2 ahead at the break. pulled back.

The sides exchanged freebies before Offley had a chance to score a golden goal after Ruerry McNamee released midfielder Jordan Hayes. His loaded shot hit the goalkeeper but hit under the crossbar and came back into play.

Offali won 45 in the latter game, but goalkeeper Paddy Dunnican – whose up-field force was a feature of the competition – hit it wide.

Dublin midfielder O’Coffeegh-Byrne was lucky not to receive a black card after a late challenge – he was given a yellow card.

Offley kept in touch and Morgan Tynan and corner-back Ciaran Donnelly hit the score from the game before Buggler’s third point gave Dublin a three-point advantage in the 35th minute.

Faithfull missed another opportunity to score in injury time when Morgan Tynan’s free fall fell and Bryant missed a rebound.

But Anton Sullivan hit a point when Dublin failed to clear the ball and left his side two behind at the break (0-9; 0-7).

Within 90 seconds of the resumption, Offley’s substitute goalkeeper Ian Duffy – who had come for the second half – was pushing the ball out of the net after an unmarked Tom Lahiff peach of a goal.

Offaly, backed by the elements, received the next three points for staying in touch; Baskel missed 20 meters to the visitors but Buggler’s fourth point from the game after 48 minutes left a goal between the two sides at the second water break.

Both teams moved their benches in the final quarter; Offali’s propensity to shoot from afar and sight saw mixed results in the second half, but it took a fine point from the middle of Johnny Moloney. However, Kilkenny quickly relented for the visitors with his third point.

But on a hectic end, Dublin’s old chiefs such as Niall Scully and Kilkenny in particular determined the play and monopolized the occupation.

He finally breached the offley defense in the 69th minute when Lee Gannon tied up with substitute Warren Egan, who made no mistake from close range, and Kilkenny soon made his fourth and Dublin’s twelfth to win a hard-fought victory. Points added.


Dublin: C Kilkenny, S Bugler 0-4 each, T Lahife 1-0, El Gannon, S Carty, A Wright, A Bayern (1F) 0-1 each.

Offley: R McNamee (0-5, 3F), A Sullivan 0-3, C Donnelly, M Tynan, J Moloney, B Carroll, J Darcy (1F) each.

Teams –

Dublin – D’O’Hanlon; Gannon L, Clayton S, Conlan D; T Lahif, E Merchan S Bugler; P O’Koffeghe-Byrne S. Karthi; K McGinnis, C Kilkenny, A Wright; L’O’Dell, C. Baskell, A. Bayern.

Sub: Ann Scully for McGinnis 45, R McGarry for O’Dell 45, C McCormack for Carty 49, W Egan for Baskel 55, Jay Doran for Wright 58, De Lacey for Byron 62, Jay Holland for Lahiff 65 , one rafter for bugler 70 + 3.

offley – P Dunican; L Pearson, J Lalor, C Donnelly; R Egan, J Moloney, C Donohoe; C Mangan, J Hayes; B. Carroll, D. Egan, M. Tynan; J Bryant, A Sullivan, R McNamee.

Sub: a levy for the Tynan HT; I Duffy for Dunicon HT; Ann Darby for D Egan 46, C Egan for Bryant 54, Jay O’Connor for Carroll 54, Kay Dolan for Donohoe 56, De Molloy for Moloney 61, Jay Darcy for Pearson 61

Referee: Patrick Coyle (meth)