four women in court

There are four million more women than men in our country, 95 men for every hundred women, about 51 percent. According to the latest national census, women’s participation in productive activities has grown steadily: the women’s participation rate increased by 3.4 percent between 2000 and 2010, but by 15.7 percent in the decade between 2000 and 2010. At the end of 2010 and 2020.

From work to education, from science to politics, women are increasingly present in all fields. There has been an increase in acceptance and space, although an increase in misogyny and violence, femicide, domestic violence, rape in many areas, is the flip side of women’s progress over the past 20 years. For this reason his presence in the field of justice is becoming increasingly important, necessary.

Fairness is far from ideal. However, there are significant progress that should be highlighted beyond the gender quota. Today half of federal deputies are women, and women hold just over 49 percent of the seats in the Senate. We are half of the local legislators, about 60 percent are trustees, although only 22 percent of municipal presidents are held by women; There will inevitably be more in the years to come.

One of these advancements has been made in the Supreme Court of Justice of the Nation (SCJN). With the joining of Minister Loretta Ortiz Ahlf, who has just taken over this responsibility at the start of the year, there are now four women who make up the Supreme Court in the country, four of the 11 members involved are ministers. For the first time, SCJN’s two rooms are led by women: Margarita Ríos Farjat presiding over the first room and Yasmin Esquivel Mossa, the second. The fourth minister is Norma Lucía Pina Hernández, the longest serving minister on the court.

Never before had four women served in the Supreme Court at the same time. This is not a mere coincidence, it is a reflection of an era and increasing social demand. Only 12 women have been ministers in the history of SCJN. The current four ministers have arrived staggeringly, but also flawlessly.

make history

The first woman to become a minister of the Court was Maria Cristina Salmoran de Tamayo, who was appointed in 1961. When the minister joined the then Fourth Chamber of the Salmoran Court, lawyers said they had included him in the “Supreme Court and Confession”. We women got the right to vote only in 1955.

Minister Livier Ayala Manzo followed, who died in 1976, a day after his appointment. In the same year, Gloria León Orantes was appointed, who had served as an agent of the Ministry of Public Affairs in the Federal District and a judge of general jurisdiction. In 1983, in the government of Miguel de la Madrid, Fausta Moreno Flores was first appointed. Then, in 1985, he proposed to Minister Victoria Adato Green, who had made a remarkable career as an agent of the public ministry, judge and criminal magistrate in the Federal District, deputy attorney and, later, attorney, before reaching court. . Justice of the nation’s capital.

Also in 1985, Martha Chávez joined the Padron Court as a majority minister. Also as a supernatural minister, Irma que Sarquis de Duarte joined in 1987. Similarly, at the end of that six-year term, Clementina Gil Guillen de Lester was proposed under the same figure.

The next women appointed as ministers were now Senator Olga Sánchez Cordero and later Margarita Luna Ramos, who retired in 2019.

Among the current ministers, the oldest is Norma Lucía Pina, who was proposed in 2015 by Enrique Pea Nieto, precisely to replace Olga Sánchez Cordero. He had already been proposed for the position on two other occasions.

In 2019, Minister Yasmin Esquivel Mossa was appointed to a shortlist proposed by current President Andres Manuel López Obrador. Esquivel came to court after a remarkable career in the country’s judicial system, where he covered practically all positions, from the most modest to the most outstanding, from the technical secretariat of the first legislature to the Assembly of Representatives of the Federal District. Superior Chamber of Agricultural Courts and Administrative Litigation Tribunal.

In 2019, Margarita Ríos Farjat from Monterrey joined the Supreme Court, replacing Eduardo Medina Mora, who resigned from his position, who previously headed the Tax Administration Service with President López Obrador.

Finally, on 4 January, the fourth minister, Loretta Ortiz Ahlf, who was also proposed by President López Obrador, joined the Supreme Court. Loretta was part of Murray’s founding group in 2011, from which she discharged in early 2019 to meet the basic requirements of willing ministers of the Mexican Constitutional Court. Beyond her past political extremism, Ortiz is a recognized woman throughout the political arena.

They are four women with varying profiles and histories, all with a high level of preparation and respected on and off the court. It is not unreasonable to think, on the contrary, that one of them could replace the presiding minister, Arturo Zaldivar, on January 1 of the following year.