They Deflate the Golden Globes

New York- The Golden Globes, Hollywood’s so-called biggest party that regularly draws 18 million viewers, was downgraded to tonight for its 79th edition in a live blog.

The embattled Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) went ahead with its film and television awards without any television broadcasts, nominees, celebrity guests, red carpet, hosts, press, or even an online broadcast. Instead, HFPA members and some recipients of the group’s philanthropic grants gathered for a 90-minute private event at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, announcing the winners’ names on the organization’s social media.

Steven Spielberg’s “West Side Story” won several major awards, including Best Picture, Musical or Comedy, Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy Movie for Rachel Ziegler, and Best Supporting Actress for Ariana DeBos.

Netflix’s gothic western “The Power of the Dog” won as a drama film, earning Jane Campion for directing and Cody Smit-McPhee honors for Best Supporting Actor.

Other film winners included Will Smith for “King Richard”, Nicole Kidman for “Being the Ricardos” and “Tick, Tick… Boom!” Andrew Garfield was involved.

“Drive My Car” was named Best Non-English Language Film and “Encanto” was named Best Animated Film, the critics’ favorite of the Japanese.

Announcing the winners on social media might seem like an easy task, but Twitter followers might have found it a bit confusing. Tweets often do not include what project the person has won.

To announce the winner for Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy Film, the organization tweeted: “Smiles require 43 muscles. Thanks for rehearsing Andrew Garfield and congratulations on bringing home the #GoldenGlobe for Best Actor – Film – Musical/Comedy, not to mention the “Tick, Tick… BOOM! But it was for his work.

Other times, the tweets were downright disturbing. Declaring the win for “West Side Story”, the group wrote: “If laughter is the best medicine, @WestSideMovie is the cure for your ills.” The musical drama is full of death and tragedy.

Winners in the television categories included Sarah Snook and Jeremy Strong for “Succession”, which also won the Best Drama Series award; Gene Smart nominated for “Hacks” in Best Comedy Series; Jason Sudeikis for “Ted Lasso”, Kate Winslet for “Mare of Easttown”, O Yeong-su for “Squid Game” and Michael Keaton for “Dopesic”. Barry Jenkins’ “The Underground Railroad” was recognized as the best limited series. And the group highlighted on their website that “Pose” star Michaela J. Rodriguez became the first trans person to win a Golden Globe.

None of the winners attended the event or immediately commented on the awards publicly.

However, Jamie Lee Curtis posted a video message on the HFPA’s Twitter account about the group’s charitable work.

“I wanted to honor and support you in this ongoing advocacy,” the actress said. “I am proud to be associated with him in this initiative.”

The HFPA recruited the leaders of the groups it has awarded grants to to announce the winners.

The outfit that goes ahead with any type of event comes as a surprise to many in Hollywood. The HFPA came under fire in February after a Los Angeles Times investigation revealed ethical flaws and a surprising lack of diversity: There was not a single black journalist among the group’s 87 members. Studios and public relations firms threatened a boycott. Tom Cruise also returned his three Golden Globes, while other top performers criticized the organization on social media.

The HFPA promised improvements during the 78th edition of the awards last year, but its former broadcast partner, NBC, announced in May that it would not broadcast the Globes in 2022 because “a change of this magnitude takes time and work. ” One of the most-watched awards after the Oscars and Grammys, the station typically pays around $60 million for the rights to broadcast the awards ceremony.

Although mocked, Hollywood accepted the Golden Globes as a legitimate and useful stop in the competitive awards season. And it was a lively night for audiences around the world, with glamorous fashion, big stars, champagne-filled speeches, and hosts — from Tina Fey and Amy Poehler to Ricky Gervais — regularly poke fun at the HFPA.

After NBC hit, it was speculated that the organization would not be offering the award this year. Hollywood studios and publicists also chose not to commit to the group as largely as in previous years, with some refusing to submit films for consideration for nominations. When the nominees were announced last month, some publicly celebrated.

This year, Kenneth Branagh’s semi-autobiographical play “Belfast”, about growing up during the Northern Irish conflict, and Campion’s “The Power of the Dog”, a 1925 gothic western set in Montana with Kirsten Dunst and Benedict Cumberbatch , was at the top of the list. .Nominations with seven nominations, including Best Drama Film. HBO’s “Succession” led the TV side with five mentions.

The Press Association claims it has been revamped in the months following the 2021 show. The group added a diversity director, revised its board of directors, added 21 new members, including six black journalists; Incorporated the NAACP into a five-year partnership and updated its code of conduct.


The list of winners of the Golden Globes, in its 79th edition, was announced on social networks on Sunday after the ceremony lost its station due to problems with its host, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association.

movie theater

-Best Drama Movie: “The Power of the Dog.”

-Best Musical or Comedy Film: “West Side Story”.

-Best Director: Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog.”

-Best Actress, Drama: Nicole Kidman, “Being the Ricardos.”

-Best Actor, Drama: Will Smith, “King Richard.”

-Best Actress, Musical or Comedy: Rachel Ziegler, “West Side Story.”

-Best Actor, Musical or Comedy: Andrew Garfield, “Tick, Tick… Boom!”

-Best Supporting Actress: Ariana DeBos, “West Side Story.”

-Best Supporting Actor: Cody Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog.”

-Best Foreign Language Film: “Drive My Car” (Japan).

-Best Animated Film: “Encanto”.

-Best Screenplay: Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast.”

-Best Original Music: Hans Zimmer, “Dune”.

Best Original Song: “No Time to Die”, Billie Eilish, Phineas O’Connell, “No Time to Die”.


-Best Drama Series: “Succession”.

-Best Musical or Comedy Series: “Hacks”.

-Best Limited Series or Movie-For-TV: “The Underground Railroad.”

-Best Actress, Drama Series: Michaela J. Rodriguez, “Pose”.

-Best Actor, Drama Series: Jeremy Strong, “Succession.”

-Best Actress, Musical or Comedy Series: Jean Smart, “Hacks.”

– Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy Series: Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso.”

—Best Actress in a Limited Series or Movie Made for Television: Kate Winslet, “Mayor of Easttown.”

– Best Actor in a Limited Series or Made for Television: Michael Keaton, “Dopesic.”

Best Supporting Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Limited Series, or Movie Made for Television: Sarah Snook, “Succession.”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Limited Series or Made for Television: O Yeong-su, “Squid Game”.